Milk without the Milk

In the first instance:

Non dairy alternatives had become a staple but with a price. The cartons and tetra packs were just not working on the recycling front. If I wanted to zero-recycle in favour of using reusables I needed to switch.

In the second instance:

I got lucky when making my first nut milk. I soaked a bowl of cashews. Blended with water and a little date syrup and hey presto. I didn’t bother to run it through a cloth as I didn’t have a suitable one. But I was on the road to cutting out the cow juice. The cashew milk was creamy. It left no greasy reside in my tea. It didn’t form lumps. Importantly it didn’t do the fizz thing soya milk does on contact with a hot brew. But above all of that it tasted good!

Footnote:

Down at Lidls, the pick and mix/grab-bag nut section was perfect for the job. In the usual fallible way, I forgot to take along my own re-usable net bag the first few times. Who takes their own bag for fresh fruit and veg anyway? Precisely, that’s where I want to gain headway. Would I get away with it weighing the same once I was at the cashiers counter? It’s a habit I willed myself to adjust to. When I used the net bag the cashier didn’t blink an eyelid. I’m pretty sure he was on auto-pilot and had better fish to fry, than worry about my poncey little alternative. Shovelling cashews into the draw string bags worked. I managed to shun some more plastic.

In the third instance:

Oat milk was just as easy as the above to make. Simple principle of ‘chuck some in with a good ratio of water’. Whizzed up it tasted fine and I’d heard it costs around 29p per litre to make.


One thought on “Milk without the Milk

Leave a comment